Understanding the Beatitudes

‘Understanding the Beatitudes’

(Mt. 5:1 – 12)

The Beatitudes are at the heart of Jesus’ preaching. They depict the face  of Jesus.  (CCC 1716-17) The Beatitudes are the Christian’s identity card. – Pope Francis

 Blessed are ….

  1. The Poor in Spirit: You  who place your absolute trust in the Lord alone.
  1. Those who Mourn: You who respond to suffering around you.
  1. The Meek: You with an inner strength that shows itself in kindness & respect.
  1. Those that Hunger & Thirst for Righteousness: You whose food it is to live the gospel without compromise.
  1. The Merciful: You who are so understanding as to forgive even the unforgivable.
  1. The Pure of Heart: You  who are  sincere from the inside & honest on the outside.
  1. The Peacemakers: You who are  ‘a channel of God’s peace’ by breaking fences & building bridges.
  1. Those Persecuted for the sake of Righteousness: You who live the Beatitudes with ‘joy & gladness’ even ‘when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Jesus… 

…  The Kingdom Of Heaven Belongs To You!